Good vs. Evil

“For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction”

                                                                          -Newton’s 3rd law of motion

I almost didn’t get out of bed this morning. I was hitting the snooze button for about the 79th time when Mira came in and jumped on the bed with such force that I was nearly catapulted out. I told her that there was no reason for me to go on, and she told me to stop being ridiculous. She asked me if I had read the letter from Philemon yet, and I said I didn’t want to. Then she badgered me so effectively that I told her, if you’re so interested just read it yourself. I waved my hand toward the corner of the room I’d thrown it toward last night, leaving my head buried in the pillow. After some commentary on my general state of messiness and rooting through the miscellany she found the envelope, tore it open and read:

Elaine,

Did I not tell you to be calm, rational, and good? Please, I am asking you with my sincerest concern for your well-being, do not do anything rash today, and come see me immediately after school. I have several crucially important things to say to you.

-Philemon

I mumbled several irritated things into my pillow while Mira turned over the paper and made sure there was nothing else in the envelope.

“I think this is very nice Elaine,” she said cheerily, “it comforts me to know that you two might get together out of this ordeal, at least it won’t have been a total waste.”

“What,” I shot up out of the covers and glared at her, “This is not nice! I do not want to go to that impossible ridiculous-” Mira stopped me by holding up her hand.

“Ok, you win. He’s impossible, but now that you’re up you should probably at least go to school.”

I threw my pillow at her, but I did go to school.

It was a gloomy and disturbing affair. Several of my teachers asked me in concern about my absence yesterday, and I didn’t have the heart to lie of tell the truth, so I just sort of sputtered.  I searched for Calen at lunch from sheer force of habit, but didn’t see her anywhere. After asking a few people if they’d seen her, my spirits sank steadily with each consecutive “no”. I tried to be studious and attentive, but like in the good old days when I had a quest, distraction was inevitable. By the end of the day I was so grim that I figured seeing Philemon could not possibly make me feel worse.

After informing Mira of my plans I trudged over to Cascaskia street. As I was walking up the path to Philemon’s door I suddenly heard raised voices from inside. If I had been a ninja, or even possibly just been me, but thinking more clearly, I might have dived into the bushes on the side of the porch and overheard the conversation. But instead I stood there dumbly as the door flew open and who should stomp out but weird guy himself. Philemon was standing in the door glaring at the whole scene,

“Well isn’t this perfect” he yelled throwing up his arms.

“Actually, I think this is perfect,” Josh gestured dramatically to me “she deserves to know-”

“DO NOT,” Philemon shouted as he walked down the stairs, “tell her anything, she’s still under my jurisdiction, and you’re not even supposed to be here!”

“Your what Tom?” Joshua spoke with quiet venom, “since when have you been in charge of anyone, least of all me?”

Philemon lurched forward as if he was going to go something violent, but Josh sidestepped him with amazing agility for someone of his size. For a moment they just glared at each other from several feet apart, then Josh said acidly,

“I’ll be going then, wouldn’t want to interfere with your jurisdiction.” Then backed away several paces before turning and calling over his shoulder, “But I’m warning you…”

The threat just sort of hung in the air like a wisp of smoke as Josh walked away into the gloomy afternoon. Philemon said something under his breath and punched the support beam of the porch. I stood there, hands in pockets, watching the puffs of my breath curl out in front of me, not having any idea what to do next.

“Well,” Philemon said after a long minute, “I guess you better come in.” A small knot of fear tightened in my stomach.

“Are you sure this isn’t a bad time?”

“It really is,” he said staring intently into the middle distance for a minute, “but there’s nothing to be done. We need to talk and the sooner the better.”

In a moment of seriously questionable judgement I followed him back into the office. He still looked extremely cross, but seemed to be acting more calm and rational. I sat down in the chair facing the desk, and waited patiently while he opened the curtains, letting in the pale pathetic light.

“I imagine it goes without saying that I can’t comment on what just happened back there,” He said waiving towards the front yard as he moved towards his desk. “So I suggest you do your best to forget about it.” He pulled the detectives jacket off the back of the desk chair and slipped it on as he sat down. Folding his hands, he placed them on the desktop and looked at me very seriously.

“Elaine,” he said slowly, “do you know Newtons third law of motion?”

“Um,” I said warily, “maybe.”

“For every action there is an opposite and equal reaction.” He looked at me even more intently. “And Elaine, do you know what the opposite of good is?”

“Bad,” I mouthed, the sound barely coming out.

“Evil,” He said firmly, and then looked around for a moment as through searching for words. “What Newton was talking about was a principle of physics. What  I want to talk to you about is something similar, about forces which exist, mostly unseen, and impact the way things happen in this world.”

I sat frozen in the chair, entirely unsure if I was supposed to respond to this.

“Elaine,” He said again, as if I could possible not be paying attention, “Do you know what it is that the quest bureau does?”

“Fights in the global cause for good,” I asked more than answered. Philemon nodded and continued,

“I’m sure you see where I’m going with this. ” I was concerned that I did, so I nodded. “Good and Evil,” he said and paused thoughtfully, “it’s not a game you know.” I nodded again. He looked ominous, “and that is why I am telling you that when the quest bureau gives you instructions, you should listen to them. That is why I am saying that you need to stop your questing, because you are in danger.”

We sat there for a long moment until I couldn’t handle the intensity and broke away from his gaze. I wanted to laugh it off or say that I didn’t know what the big deal was, but I couldn’t do it with any conviction.

“What are you going to do now,” Philemon asked. I looked up and he was still staring at me, though in a much less frightening way.

“Go home,” I volunteered meekly.

“I think that’s a good idea. And what about after that?”

“Homework,” I said a bit more confidently.

“A fine idea. And after that?”

I began to get his drift and answered with false certainty, “stop thinking about the quest, and get on with my life.”

“Correct,” Philemon stated and then smiled grimly, “better get to that.”

Again we stared at each other for a moment and then I quickly scrambled to me feet, he stood and I headed for the door. “I’ll see you ,” I called without really thinking.

“I’d imagine it’s actually ‘goodbye’ for the time being,” he said matter-of-fact-ly. I turned and looked to see if he was serious. I don’t know why I thought he might be kidding.

“OKay, goodbye then,” I said awkwardly, and then turned again to walk out the door. I was quickly becoming flooded with several emotions and wanted to get home before I was swept away. I vaguely heard him call,

“be safe,” as I let myself out. The afternoon outside was gloomier still, and I walked quickly down the block, trying to ignore the cold and the looming feelings tsunami.

“Elaine,” A voice called quietly behind me. I nearly had a heart attack as I spun around to see Josh standing a few feet behind me. I looked around wildly as was about to scream when he quickly put his hands up in surrender and said,

“Sorry, sorry, I just want to talk to you for a second.”

“You’re following me,” I said in a breathless panic.

“Not for very long,” he soothed, “and that’s not much of an accusation coming from you, ms. stalker of the year.”

“What,” I choked, “how do you-”

“I’m on a quest,” he interrupted with a laugh, “I can read your blog.”

“WHAT!?” I was in serious danger of sounding like a broken record, but I was more concerned that I might pass out. I wavered for a moment and Joshua reached out to steady me. I jerked away and this time did stumble backwards.

“I just want to talk to you,” Josh said soothingly, ” We can speak in a nice, safe, public place, and I will tell you a few things that no one else will.”

I looked back toward Philemon’s office, but I’d gone around the block and it was out of sight. “Are you working for good or for evil,” I said, perhaps totally devoid of sanity.

“Oh no, not that speech,” Josh smacked his hand against his forehead. “Did he just,” he sputtered, then sighed heavily, “I am on the side of good, I don’t know if I can say as much for him right now.” He smiled wearily and said, “so what’ll it be Elaine, can we just talk?”

“Will you tell me why you called him Tom,” I asked in spite of myself.

“Because that’s his name, yes, I will, and many other disturbing things, ” he said airily. “Hows about we meet at the Library at 7?”

“Alright,” I said slowly, “and you can stop following me now.”

“absolutely,” He said with a smile that seemed genuine.

So, I went home, told Mira to call the police and alert the quest bureau if I wasn’t back in an hour, loaded up on pepper spray and arranged to take the car so I wouldn’t have to walk in the dark. Then I went to the library and discussed many interesting things. I will not disclose those here as of yet, as we are now testing a theory. If you ran into a weird post without content earlier today, that could have been part of that. As for now, I will say:

THE QUEST IS STILL ON

What do you have to say to that? Anyone, class, anyone?

Leave a comment